Autry National Center

Native Voices at the Autry

Native Voices at the Autry is the only Equity theatre company devoted exclusively to developing and producing new works for the stage by Native American, Alaska Native, and First Nations playwrights. Founded in 1994 by Producing Artistic Director Randy Reinholz (Choctaw) and Producing Executive Director Jean Bruce Scott, Native Voices became the resident theatre company at the Autry National Center of the American West in 1999.

The 2014–2015 season celebrates the company’s 15th year at the Autry and its 20th anniversary advancing Native theatre. The company provides a supportive, collaborative setting for Native theatre artists from across North America. This season the company established the Native Voices Artists Ensemble to support and engage the extraordinary talents of its Native actors, writers, musicians, and directors. The Ensemble is devoted to developing new work in a collaborative process as well as supporting Native Voices’ ongoing focus on the work of individual playwrights.

Native Voices at the Autry is a member of Actors’ Equity Association, LA Stage Alliance, and the Dramatists Guild, and is a Constituent Theatre of Theatre Communications Group (TCG), the national organization for the American theatre.

Native Voices Fifth Annual Short Play Festival

Sunday, November 8, 1:30 p.m.

Included With Admission to the Autry’s American Indian Arts Marketplace
Free for Autry Members
Space Is Limited / Early Arrival Is Suggested

Family—everyone has a story to tell about their own. The Native Voices Artists Ensemble presents new short plays by Native American playwrights exploring family in every sense of the word. Sibling rivalries, loss and reconciliation, nostalgic memories, and history passed from generation to generation are all featured in this lively annual festival. One of these plays will also receive the Von Marie Atchley Excellence in Playwriting Award, a $1,000 cash prize!

IMAGE: (Left to right) Emily Lenkeit as Caitlin, Bernard Addison as Sheriff, Shaun Taylor-Corbett (Blackfeet) as Momaday, Román Zaragoza (Pima) as Alexie / CREDIT: Craig Schwartz © 2015


San Manuel Band of Mission Indians Department of Cultural Affairs, City of Los Angeles Edison International Los Angeles County Arts Commission National Endowement for the Arts The Nissan Foundation Seven Post Sony Pictures The Walt Disney Company Wells Fargo

Native Voices

Native Voices would like to thank the following people for donating to our first-ever Indiegogo campaign:

  • Anonymous (16)
  • Stephen Aron
  • Kathy Baird
  • Joe and Vera Bedard
  • Chris and Kelbe Bensinger
  • Robert Bobala
  • Ruth Bowling
  • Sharon Boyle
  • Julie Burelle
  • Matthew Burgos
  • Robert Caisley
  • Dan Carter
  • David W. Cartwright
  • Caroline Chang
  • Paula Cizmar
  • Dale A. Cooke
  • Oliver Dale
  • Tim Dang
  • Sara Dao
  • Jill Degan
  • Michael Degan
  • Darrell Dennis
  • Barbara Dodge
  • Shawn Imitates Dog
  • Maren Dougherty
  • Nadine McDonald Dowd
  • Michael Drummond and Family
  • John Clinton Eisner
  • David and Denise Ellenstein
  • Patty and Craig Farthing
  • Lori Favela
  • William Fitzhugh
  • Brian and Dalia Flanagan
  • Farrell and Sandra Foreman
  • Sydney Freeland
  • Michael John Garcés
  • Dawn Jamieson Gingold
  • David M. Gipp
  • Diane Helen Glancy
  • Carole Goldberg
  • Mitchell Gossett
  • Jason Grasl
  • John L. Gray
  • Gabriel Greene
  • Kathleen Grove
  • Kimberly N. Guerrero
  • Joseph Hardin
  • Joy Harjo
  • Nina and Michael Heumann
  • Jere Hodgin
  • Carolina Hoyos
  • Julie Jensen
  • Stacey Parshall Jensen
  • Shelby Jiggetts-Tivony
  • Julia Johnson
  • Gina Kalloch
  • Michael and Shannon Kane
  • Frank Katassee
  • Geri Keams
  • Brad Kelly
  • Brian Klopotek
  • Venida Korda
  • Scott Kratz
  • Lori A. Kunkel
  • Kathy LaMaster
  • Joan Lawton
  • Stacy Lieberman
  • Jackie OC Logan
  • Sheridan MacKnight
  • Joanne Maedl
  • Dirk Maggs
  • Veronica White Magpie
  • Jenny Marlowe
  • Timothy Mason
  • Zahn McClarnon
  • David McClendon
  • Steve McCormick
  • Georgia Mercer
  • Craig Miller
  • Beth Milstein
  • Courtney Mohler
  • Mary Kathryn Nagle
  • Yvette Nolan
  • Jack and Helen Ofield
  • Jessica Ordon
  • Margaret E. O'Rourke
  • Rena Owen
  • Lana Owens
  • Bridget Paley
  • Christianne Penunuri
  • Marisa Quinn
  • Heather Millar Quintana
  • Peter Quintana
  • Vickie Ramirez
  • Laurie Reynolds
  • Jon Lawrence Rivera
  • Arlene Robertson
  • Kenneth Ruthardt
  • Sharon and William J. Sanderson
  • Virginia J. Scharff
  • Nan M. Scott
  • Buffy and Joe Sedlachek
  • Jack Shakely
  • Laura A. Shamas
  • Jen Shook
  • Elizabeth Short
  • Kevin Sifuentes
  • Pat Sigler
  • Jonathan Skurnik
  • Shirley K. Sneve
  • Linda Starbard
  • John Stark
  • Erika Stone
  • ML Taylor
  • Drew Hayden Taylor
  • Shaun Taylor-Corbett
  • Larry Upthegrove
  • Mark Valdez
  • Joseph Valdez
  • Carmel Valencia
  • Teresa Van Winkle
  • Richard and Linda Warren
  • Brian Wescott
  • Rick West
  • John Williams
  • Craig Wolf
  • Dawn and Stephan Wolfert
  • Christina Wright
  • Shirley, Greg, Danielle, Rayanna and Roman Zaragoza
  • Shari Zeck

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required















4700 Western Heritage Way, Los Angeles, CA 90027-1462 Phone: 323.667.2000

© 2015 Autry National Center of the American West. All rights reserved.