Teachers Academy

Teacher Academy

July 8–12, 2019

For five days in the summer, Academy participants work with historians, curators, archivists, and other experts in their fields to help develop unit plans for classroom implementation in the coming academic year. Teachers then share the results of this work at the next Autry Social Action Symposium.

The Autry Teacher Academy is an annual professional development program based on the Autry’s belief that the techniques and resources of museums can help talented teachers create engaging, powerful, and memorable project-based learning units in the classroom.

Autry Teacher Academy Application

The application period for the 2018 Autry Teacher Academy is now closed. To apply for the 2019 Autry Teacher Academy, please check back on November 1, 2018.

As participants in the Academy, each teacher will receive:

  • A $1,000 stipend for the dedication of your time and effort and your participation in all Academy activities, including, the Academy workshops, creating a lesson plan to teach in the classroom, and attending the Autry Social Action Symposium and Showcase.
  • Breakfast and lunch every day of the Academy.
  • Access to top scholars and professionals in the fields of history, culture, education, and museum studies.
  • Elementary and Secondary education teachers will participate in an Autry Classroom Curators project, a project based learning program that culminates with the students presenting their work at the Autry, in their community, or in their classroom.
  • The promotion of your completed work among the community of educators in Southern California.


  • Attend all scheduled days for the Academy
  • Plan a unit of study that incorporates teaching techniques learned through the academy and then teach that unit in the classroom before April 2019.
  • Teachers will participate in Autry Classroom Curators in the 2018-2019 year. Autry Classroom Curators partners with teachers and students for a unit of study that runs roughly 8 weeks. The Autry will provide support for a Project-Based Learning Unit.
  • Attend and participate in the Autry Social Action Symposium and Showcase.

Educational Programs at the Autry are sponsored by:

The Albertsons Companies Foundation • AltaMed • Phyllis H. Barbato • Molly and Neal H. Brockmeyer • The Capital Group Companies Charitable Foundation • Dwight Stuart Youth Fund • Edison International • David F. Eisenberg • Employees Community Fund of Boeing California • The Georgina-Fredrick Children’s Foundation • Marilyn B. and Calvin B. Gross • The Kenneth T. and Eileen L. Norris Foundation • Ronald McDonald House Charities of Southern California • Brenda and Gary Ruttenberg • Sony Pictures Entertainment • Thelma Pearl Howard Foundation • U.S. Bancorp • Union Bank • Wells Fargo