WOW Museum: The Struggle for Women's Suffrage


California | Colorado | Hawaii
Kansas | New Mexico | Oregon
Texas | Utah | Washington | Wyoming


1834-   Abigail Scott born, third of twelve children.

1852-   Scott family migrates west on Oregon Trail from Illinois.

1859-   Oregon statehood.

1870-   First suffrage organization formed by Abigail Scott Duniway.

1873-   Oregon Equal Suffrage Association founded by Duniway.

1884-   Oregon voters defeat suffrage referendum.

1900-   Oregon voters defeat second suffrage referendum.

1906-   Oregon voters defeat third suffrage referendum.

1908-   Oregon voters defeat fourth suffrage referendum.

1910-   Oregon voters defeat fifth suffrage referendum.

1911-   Sixth suffrage referendum approved by voters.

Suffrage Poster
Handbill, "Women pay taxes."
Oregon Historical Society

Back to Suffrage in Oregon