WOW Museum: The Struggle for Women's Suffrage


California | Colorado | Hawaii
Kansas | New Mexico | Oregon
Texas | Utah | Washington | Wyoming


1849-   California statehood.

1893-   State legislature approves suffrage for women; governor vetoes bill as unconstitutional.

1896-   Statewide referendum defeats suffrage.

1902-   Woman's Socialist Union founded.

1906-   The Yellow Ribbon suffrage newspaper founded.

1910-   Progressive Party submits suffrage issue to voters via referendum.

1911-   Male voters approve full women's suffrage.

Equal pay for equal work

The Women's Union Label League parades for women's equal pay in San Diego's Labor Day Parade, 1910.
San Diego Historical Society, Title Insurance Trust Collection

Back to Suffrage in California